Sense Making vs. Meaning-Making

photo (13)

 

I never really thought of the importance, as a leader of making meaning for those I lead, especially if I felt that what we were doing, or how we were transisiton, just made since. But then I heard this, “people do not react directly to events; they act based on their interpretation of the meaning of events”.

Meaning: states that humans act toward people and things according to the meaning that they assign to those people or things. Symbolic interactionism holds the principal of meaning to be central.

I tie meaning to perception. As leaders, we must be open to others perceptions, and how they as assigning meaning. This, allows leaders the opportunity to think though things through anothers view.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑